HBCU All-Stars LLC & CBS Sports announced today the 2020-21 HBCU All-Stars, Coaches, and Player of the Year winners selected by voters from the MEAC and SWAC member institutions, coaches, sports information directors, and HBCU All-Stars selection committee members.
Two Historically Black Colleges & Universities won in the NCAA Tournament for the first time in the same year. Texas Southern University Johnny Jones & Norfolk State University Robert Jones will be the recipients of the HBCU All-Stars Co-Coach of the Year Award presented by CBS Sports after both of these prestigious coaches guided their respective programs to historic victories in the First Four of the NCAA Tournament play-in-games in Indianapolis to face both #1 overall seeds Gonzaga & Michigan in the First Round.
Texas Southern University's Michael Weathers & Norfolk State's Devante Carter earned Co-Player of the Year Awards after leading their outstanding programs to SWAC & MEAC championships and victories in the NCAA Tournament.
Michael Weathers from Texas Southern University was the SWAC Newcomer of the Year and first team All-SWAC, Top-5 in SWAC in points per game (16.5 PPG), assists per game (3.4 APG), and steals per game (2.1 SPG). Norfolk State's Devante Carter was second team All-MEAC, MEAC All-Tournament Team, 3X MEAC Tournament Player of the Week, with team-high 3 double-doubles, career-high 31 PTS vs Coppin State, Top-10 in the MEAC in points per game (14.9 PPG), rebounds per game (5.1 RPG), and assists per game (4.0 APG), AD Honor Roll Fall 2020.
Jackson State's Tristan Jarrett was SWAC Player of the Year & Led SWAC in scoring (20.9 PPG). He scored at least 30 pts 3 times this season, including a season-high 35 points in the final game of the season. Anthony Tarke from Coppin State was MEAC Player of the year and defensive player of the year. He led MEAC in rebounding (8.1 RPG) and field goal percentage (47.3%), his 8 double-doubles led the MEAC was 3rd in the MEAC in scoring (16.1 PPG).
Troy Baxter at Morgan State was first team All-MEAC and MEAC all-defensive team. He finished regular season ranked No. 1 in scoring (17.1 PPG) and 3rd in blocks per game (1.7 BPG). He also scored double-figures 17 times, He made AD Honor Roll Spring 2020, Fall 2020. Coppin State's DeJuan Clayton was first team All-MEAC. He finished in Top-10 in the MEAC in points per game (14.9 PPG), assists per game (3.8 APG), and rebounds per game (3.8 RPG), scored a career-high 32 PTS on 1/4 vs Delaware State.
C.J. Keyser at North Carolina Central was first team All-MEAC and led NC Central in scoring (16.6 PPG). He scored in double-figures in every game this season. He was two time MEAC Player of the week. Alcorn State's Troymain Crosby was All-SWAC first team and 2nd in the SWAC in scoring (19.1 PPG).
Davion Warren from Hampton University finished second in voting for Big South Player of the Year. He was First Team All-Big South & led Big South in scoring (21.2 PPG) and steals (2.1 SPG). Scoring average is highest among HBCU schools. Tennessee State's Shakem Johnson led OVC in field goal percentage (60.5%) and Tennessee State in rebounding (5.8 RPG). He scored in double-figures in the final 6 games of the season.
Myles Carter at Delaware State was Second Team All-MEAC & led team in scoring at 15.0 PPG. He had a career-high 24 PTS in the final game of the season. North Carolina A&T's Kameron Langley was second Team All-MEAC and MEAC all-defensive team. He led MEAC with 6.3 APG, and his team in scoring (10.5 PPG) and assists (6.3 APG) and finished 2nd in rebounding (4.9 RPG).
Prince Moss from Grambling State University scored in double-figures in 6 of the final 7 games of the season, including a season-high 20 PTS vs Alabama State on ¾. He shot 46.5% from deep. Prairie View A&M's Lenell Henry led Prairie View A&M with 6.2 RPG, He had 3 double-doubles on the season. Brandon Battle at Alabama State was 2nd in the SWAC with 6 double-doubles. He led Alabama State in scoring (11.6 PPG), rebounding (7.7 RPG), and field goal percentage (47.6%)
Our distinguished group of HBCU All-Stars, Players, and Coaches of the Year recipients will be recognized on Saturday, April 3, during the Final Four Pre-Game Show celebrating the History, Culture, & Impact of HBCUs on the game of basketball and highlight ViacomCBS previously announced commitment to HBCUs, scholarship funds, and internship opportunities for HBCU students. This historic endeavor will be a great partnership between CBS Sports & HBCU All-Stars LLC held each year during the Men's Final Four in hosting cities.
The Final Four Pre-Game show will be broadcast on CBS Sports beginning at 3:00 p.m. EST.
About HBCU All-Stars LLC 
Founded by Travis L. Williams, HBCU All-Stars LLC is a black-owned sports marketing and event organization located in Atlanta, GA. We aim to showcase The Best in Black College Basketball through HBCU All-Star Games and Events
that bring much-needed exposure, visibility, & recognition to outstanding, talented, and hard-working HBCU student-athletes and coaches. Our mission is to Advocate, Educate, Expose, Mentor, and Invest in HBCUs, student-athletes,
and coaches across the country. We provide a high level of expertise in game day & event management, basketball operations, sports marketing, and ancillary events to highlight black excellence and celebrate black culture.




National Weather

Click on Map for Forecast

The Opinion Poll

Democrats - 100%
Republicans - 0%